Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I am new to the online environment. Do you think it is acceptable to be available to students by phone and have set office hours on the weekdays only?

Hi Melanie! Thanks for your question. This is Jay Hollowell from MaxKnowledge and I am guest facilitating this course for awhile.

I think it is really up to the instructor and his/her schedule as well as any institutional policy. Online students of course, not in a class environment,still need assistance and coaching from their teacher.

Set office hours are a good idea, particularly since the internet is 24/7; if no office hours on Saturday, then certainly for selected evenings - it really depends upon when and how often your online class meets or whether or not it is totally asynchronous.

Bottom line, online instructors should run their schedules in concert with their students' schedules to ensure ease of communication.

Jay Hollowell
Guest Facilitator

I do have a few questions to all regarding availability to students. Since I am new to teaching online, I was wondering how you all decide on your virtual office hours. Do you have a morning and evening time of availability on particular days? Do you implement a weekend time of availability? I would appreciate any suggestions from you all on what has worked and what has not worked. Also, do you mention your virtual office hours when you are doing your biography?

I have read your posts and I know that I am one who determines availability according to my schedule. I am just curious about some do's and don'ts. I do teach in a traditional setting and even though you provide the students with office hours you still have constant interruptions because they do not oblige to your office hours.