Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Availability To Students

I am an online instructor. Students are informed on the first day all emails are returned within 24 hours. I post office hours and days I am available. As much as you would like to be available 24 hours, we as instructors have personal lives and in each new class, there is a student of group of students who feel I am not available when they need help because of the time difference, their own work schedules etc. Is it really possible to be readily available to every student?

Patricia:
A single Instructor cannot be readily available on demand for students. providing a 24 hour turnaround time is more than sufficient. The onus should be on the student to adapt to your stated availability; not you constantly changing your schedule to match their individual needs. After all, in a traditional classroom setting, they have to attend class at specified times, and consult with you during your regular office hours.
Satrohan

I believe that a 24 hour - 48 hour turn around time is sufficient especially if you have 100 plus students. They all want you to be available at the drop of a dime but it is immpossiible.

Pamela:
A student to instructor ratio of 100:1 is extremely high. If this were indeed the case, students must be advised of the expected turnaround time well in advance. By doing this we set their expectations and would be better able to manage those expectations.
Satrohan

Balancing the expectations of realistic turnaround times and the many other activities is I believe also a major concern.

Realistic expectations of instructor, student, and institition are key to success.

Clear understanding of these points up front will alleviate these concerns

Joel