Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Teaching Seasoned Learners vs. Non-seasoned...Online

As someone who returned to school to obtain my Masters Degree, I see how important it was for me to have work experience in order to apply the concepts learned in the classroom.

I went to college initially, fresh out of high school and didn't retain nearly as much as I did when I returned to college as a "seasoned" worker/learner.

Now, when you add the ability to achieve a degree completely online, I wonder what will be lost from an interactive perspective. In a class environment, you are able to have immediate, if not always appreciated, feedback from instructors and peers whereas online, unless you are in an active chat session, the feedback may not be as timely or relevant.

As a new online instructor, my plan is to tkae the positive aspects of the classroom environment and try to implement them where possible (i.e. scheduling interactive chat sessions, establishing a conference call to review material on a periodic basis, etc.)

Hi Tonya! Thanks for your comments. The interactive element in the online environment is, as you mention, quite different than on ground, particularly in an asynchronous format. This places great responsibility on the instructor to create an effective and personal feedback system - your examples identify good ways to foster interactivity.

Jay Hollowell
EL102 Facilitator

I teach both live and online classes.

I have found that in online classes that I am on my toes to keep myself visible to the students as I would in a live classroom. Both styles of classrooms are important and I try to keep myself visible.

The students want to know their feedback and I try to be on top of that area as I would in a live classroom.

I feel I am as available to the online students as I am to the live students as much as humanly possible.