Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I agree with this sentiment. Since I, as the instructor, am not in front of the class, setting the tone and feel, I need to rely on the visual cues of the weblearning space. If the site look bland ans cold, then that is how students will respond to the course. If you can, cahnge the colors. Add some personal touches if possible.

Also, makes sure that everything on the site is working the way that it is suppose to--i.e. make sure that there are no broken links and that the site does not look cluttered. The clearer your site is laid out, the easier it will be for students to follow.

I'm new at this but from what I've seen in powerpoint presentations and such the better the quality of presentation definitely influences student attention and interest.

Douglas,
You can even add voice to a Powerpoint now!

Shelly Crider

I absolutely think this is true. If the on-line site itself is not visually appealing (look), and easily/intuitively navigable (feel), it will at the least be understimulating/unengaging, and at worst distracting and frustrating.

I haven't done instructional system design before, so I'm very interested to see where this course goes regarding that. However, having frequently been an on-line student before (as I am w/ this CEE program), I feel I know what right looks/feels like. As an example CEE should jettison "Maxwell Knowlton"... that use of available technology is very amaturish.