Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

As a design instructor, I have found that encouraging students to share their design work via social media and design communities provides a platform for peer critique as well as fosters esteem as they see work they have completed as being comprable to work of established designers. In the classroom I use copyright-cleared youtube videos that show physical or mechanical processes to provide a better understanding of subject matter. For example, in a class that discusses production printing, I show a video where the owner of a large printing facility opens the press and discusses the parts and how the substrate transports from the entry point of the press under the presses and an image is developed. I could explain that mechanical process all day, but this video gives students a fuller grasp in less than 10 minutes.

Having taught culinary instruction for many years, I find it both interesting and instructional that students can use the internet to visually breakdown understand the techbiques of classical French Cuisine. Chefs around the world use different techniques to accomplish the same task, and yesterday in class after physically demonstrating the breakdown of a chicken for Ballontine preparation, my class and I watched Jacque Pepin on You Tube, and he demonstrated and easier and more constructive way to do the same task. Many more fellow culinarians are also on You Tube, and each gives his own knterpretation and demonstration, which in the end, this media source, gives students a current way to approach difficult classroom curriculum, and can be viewed several times, to make the learning process clear and applicable to their set goal.

I teach high performance PCM tuning for 2 different styles of cars. We are constantly using technology to show the students the differences between fuel injection and carburetors.