Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I can show work product examples, I can show charts, I can tell stories about my "real" world experiences. I can show brief videos. I can show worksheet examples.

Hi Nick,
Students need to know that what they are learning will be applied in the real world.

Patricia Scales

Have speakers that verify what I have taught. Use work product that others have done. Give personal testimony of my own experiences, show videos of people in "real" world situations that you have gone over in case studies. Newspaper or magazine articles that back up what I have covered in class.

I'm an instructor at a technical school with years of experience in the related field of work. Because of this I can share with the students situations where the topic we are discussing ties into real world applications. It shows them that what they are learning is relevant.

Hi Fred,
You have great ways to promote course relevancy. Students need to know how they are going to benefit from the course.

Patricia Scales

Hi Dave,
Anytime you can show students what they are learning pertains to the real world, they undersand how the course is going to help them.

Patricia Scales

By showing practical solutions to everyday household issues with heating/airconditioning

Hi Randy,
Making learning apply to the real world is what students want and need so that when they begin work they know exactly what needs to be done.

Patricia Scales

I teach math and there are many everyday uses of math it is easy to come up with any number of them. We have purchased a house, calculated payments, created a budget, looked at credit card interest, built a patio, built a playset, and so on.