Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I'm just starting out in the teaching field, but thru all the tutorials I kept remembering a teacher that always kept us engaged by telling amusing stories, giving "real life" examples of what he was trying to explain and field trips (my all time favorite). I want to use his example for my teaching motivation.

Catherine,
Sharing stories from the field are a great way to show application and relevance to students plus they do just what they did for you, catch their attention. So feel free to share those stories and get your students engaged.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

Most of the students are choosing their career path for the draw of high compensation, or friend's and family advice to get a good and stable position. I think that my role as a medical diagnostic sonography course instructor is to inspire them and show how rewarding their profession could be. My goal is not only help my students become good professionals, but also feel happy and enjoy every working day filled with challenges, discoveries and patients appreciation. Providing them some real stories from my extensive practice I am trying to show how their professionalism could change someone's life. That helps the students be more responsible and take all class activities, assignments and lab training more seriously.

I agree Scott, by bringing the "passion" or "fire" into the classroom shows the students within that chosen profession that you have not only a passion for your field, but a passion to teach them what you know. "This is a strong motivator". When the students feel your passion, it excites them as to what they are learning,resulting in them wanting to learn more!

Sofia,