Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I teach at an automotive school, so interests are similar. We have drag races, car shows, car trivia challenges and so one. It works very well.

I think we need to more consistently do the activities we already do: attendance awards for cohorts, spirit week, thanksgiving dinner/ice cream socials. And the ice bucket challenge!

Megan ,

Tie activities into the learning some how. I've come to believe that there are students that will participate in almost anything and there are the introverted that find it difficult to participate.

Ron Hansen, Ed. D.

I'm an instructor at an Automotive technical college and I hear over and over how the students want us to have an event where they can show off their cars. Our school has had some car shows and it really does show off our school and brings the students to a different level of respect for the school they attend.

Ryan,

Car shows are definitely a hit at automotive schools.

Ron Hansen, Ed. D.

We used to have our annual fashion and portfolio show organized by an outside group. For the past two years we have done everything in house and it has been extremely effective. Everyone gets involved doing the video and photography as well as all the graphics.

We also track student birthdays which are celebrated and do many field trips out into their relative fields.

We have just started community outreach with local non profits it’s fantastic industry experience for our students and I would like to see it expanded.

Some of the involvement activities are:

Holiday activities such as dinner for students during Thanksgiving
Celebrating Halloween with costume contest

off campus activities

Alex,

Please describe the activities.

Ron Hansen, Ed. D.

Zena,

Keeping it all in house makes for a more engaged school community.

Ron Hansen, Ed. D.

I think some involvement activities could include:

1. more student recognition based on programs
2. contests