Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Seems like a cumbersome system that could easily let students slip though the cracks. Many students won't stick around through several cycles if they have personal or financial problems. How does your system handle these situations?

A student that chooses to drop our program is advised to speak with an instructor from that program and/or current or previous students of the program. This will allow the student to be fully informed before making a decision.

We have a process where the student has to speak with a member of student services before withdrawing,every effort is made to acconidate their issues.

As an instructor, I am responsible for tracking attendance every day. If a student reaches a certain amount of time, I fill out a form, meet with the student, have the student sign off, then give the form to my manager. Disregarding all the beauracracy involved, this proves to be an effective tool most of the time. It gives me an opportunity to let the student know that - hey, I couldn't help but notice you have missed a significant amount of class time, what's going on.......This oftentimes leads to a connection with the student, and sometimes just that simple gesture of - hey I care about you ceases the problem. On the other hand, sometimes it uncovers issues that are way beyond my pay grade, at which point, I will refer than to the required department, sometimes initiating the contact myself.

Attendance is critical to success. The school I was associated with had a strict attendance policy; if you exceeded the allowed time, you had to re-take the course. There were a few exceptions for students who had clear medical documentation and could demonstrate course proficiency.

The students knew we were serious and that it was expensive, in both money and time, to skip class.

make every day exciting, and focused so the sutdents are involved.