Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files
TBD
TBD

Helping Others with a Career Path

Please provide an example of how you, as a supervisor or mentor, have helped someone else manage his/her career. What were the results?

I am a career service coordinator...I have the oportunity to work with many students everyday.
I find if you take the time to actually listen and get to know them you can have a great impact on how to best direct them. I find most often they just need a little direction and someone to believe in them. I remain one of their biggest fans.I work with them to build confidence and provide them with the appropriate information that best meets there needs to obtain a fullfilling career. Ex, resumes building, workshops, networking ect.When they become successful i feel rewared knowing i had a small part of that.

As a hotel general manager, I try to mentor my front desk manager. I leave her in charge when I am away so that she learns to make decisions without my always being there. When I return, we discuss how she handled things.

Sounds like you are right on target!

This is a great idea Heather & very helpful in developing your front desk manager into a future leader.
Ryan

Darlene,
I think you are exactly right - so many students just need a bit of guidance with regard to the tools (i.e. resumes, portfolios, networking) and to know that someone is cheering them on to success! Sometimes that boost of confidence is all it takes for them to believe in themselves. How rewarding!

Yes & along with knowing that someone believes in their abilities is that someone believes they know how to put in the hard work of putting those abilities to action.
Ryan