Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I have several time-wasters. The worst one in my personal time was Facebook. I resolved (for the most part) my 'addiction' by deactivating my account for two weeks. I found after that period that I know longer needed to check it every hour or two. As for work-related time-wasters, it has to be research. As an instructor, I am constantly researching but often times find myself focusing on the tangents rather than the original area that I intended to study. So then most of the material that I've just spent hours pouring through isn't directly related to whatever it is I'm discussing in class.

Thanks, Debra. Lots of folks have issues with social media. Turning off access and reminders except for during short, planned times during the day seems helpful to a lot of people.

Mitch,

I do not think the "visit" is the issue. I think the issue is what happend during the visit. I make it a point to visit most, if not all, of the other managers every day to make sure we are aware of what each of us is doing. If I am not careful, we could slip into time-wasting activities during these visits.

FACEBOOK! I am a procrastinator. However, I do get my work done, on time and complete... I'm not sure that I will ever stop my time-wasting with facebook because it cleanses my mind and allows me to reload to tackle my next task.

By far most time wasted is in the form of emails, particularly when these communications are in the form of a CC or BCC. More often than not these emails consume a lot of time, are not directly related to personal tasks at hand and can take away one's attention and focus. To this extent, I have asked many peers to avoid copying me with these kinds of emails unless they are pertinent or directly related to my department, also insisting on an urgency title in the subject title.