Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Well there is no doubt that before any coaching can be done you need to understand your own emotional intelligence,you must evaluate each of your employees personality type and know what motivates them as individuals.

Dave,
Definitely. And I have found that the true key to successful coaching is helping my employees evaluate themselves & tap into their own self-awareness regarding what motivates them. This way through coaching they are discovering & I am not telling.
Ryan

I'm reading through these threads, and I must say I'm very impressed with everything. I'm learning a lot about management just from reading the discussions alone.

I agree I love to help people and I like them to return the help only because I am new at this.This is very important to me.

It is a partnership between two people

Mary,
I appreciate your desire to help people. I think you will find the more that you practice effective coaching, the more you will develop others as coaches & often they are ready & able to return that help to you. Coaching really can be a great give-give type of situation where everyone benefits.
Ryan

Coaching is the skill and practice of inspiring, reviving, and facilitating the presentation, knowledge, and growth of the team. The goal is to direct ideas, advise excellence, and authorize the one being coached .
Neha Kuhar

Great points. I especially liked the terminology you use of "authorizing" the one being coached. As I interpret that it's the act of the coach giving power & leadership to the coachee. I like that phrase.
Ryan

Coaching is very effective because you are practicing and perfecting skills much more than on theory.