Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I have never used this idea before, however it is no different than creating involvement of team members by allowing their input to goal setting. In fact, I am tempted to try this with a team assignment, possibly even having a different rubric in place that is established by each team. I suspect that many teams would actually be more stringent in their requirements than I might be.

Ken,

You may very well be right. The students are sometimes more stringent than we think about being. Thanks for your input.

Group work on the rubric project would possibly increase class participation and communication as well.

I believe you should start at the beginning of the project to involve the students. The student will have buy-in and will own the project from the start. The students will hold themselves accountable for learning.

Michael,

Yes, it will. Students have to analyze the learning outcomes and how the rubric/project/assignments lead to the criteria in the rubric.

Camesha,

i agree. The more we engage the students, the more buy in they will have.

Student buy-in is always an important plus. I think it’s valuable to have a “before and after” discussion. Often the two are different in specific things related to a particular assignment, but usually general “quality of presentation” remain. Of course it’s important for an instructor to impose certain areas of evaluation relative to the assignment’s objectives.