Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Should we use subjective written communication more?

It seems that we generally give objective tests to students in the lower level classes and more subjective tests as the classes progress to the graduate level courses. Is this appropriate? Or should lower level classes also be expected to communicate in writing on subjective tests? What if the student does not go on for graduate level classes? Have we done an injustice to the student by not "forcing" the student to communicate in writing? I use the word "forcing" because students do not want to write papers. Although I am a CPA and deal a lot with numbers, business communication explaining the numbers is probably even more important.
Jean Riese

Jean,

it is appropriate if that is the best way to measure your objectives. We will talk about Bloom's Taxonomy and how we want students to do higher order thinking and learning but don't forget they have to learn concepts and skills before they apply them.

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

Jean,
This is a very interesting topic! I think it has become increasingly important for graduates of diploma and associate degree programs to have moderate if not excellent writing skills while on the job. I remember sitting on advisory board meetings where employers expressed the need for entry-level grads to have better communication skills including business emails and professional letters. I personally assign writing assignments in my lower level classes to elevate the students awareness of how important this is on the job.

Jean, I agree with you that we give the objective tests to the lower classes (medical billing and coding) perhaps we need to change tactics a little.
I'm not referring to writing papers. My frustration is that the students do not thoroughly read the question or read the answer (we are talking open book online tests) and get the wrong answer. I can tell what they were thinking by the answer they picked.