Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Grading Rubrics

Why are grading rubrics important to have for all types of grading assessments?

Hi Jean,

To start with an instance many students encounter throughout their education: I sometimes felt that my grade should have been higher based on the assignment instructions, but there was "the instructor is always right" philosophy at the university. Ironically, now I am a student again at the same university (MBA) and often get myself in trouble for questioning a grade. :) I think the problem is that instructional design has taught me how to quantify even the most softest of the soft sciences in the form of grading rubrics. My statistics instructor provided a grading rubric, but not my corporate strategy instructor under the statement that "you can't quantify it". Unfortunately for me and several of my like-minded cohort, the suggestion of a clearly-defined grading rubric was declined. I guess instructors can make the worst students sometimes. :)

But more to the point, rubrics protect both the instructor and the student. They allow for greater communication of knowledge between instructor and student. And provide a demonstrative, qualitative list of how knowledge and the course objectives have been passed from instructor to student and to what degree. In theory this is what grades should do, but grades are too vague. Rubrics break it down to exactly what transpired. They also make for great educational diagnostics! Rubrics can help both the instructor and student determine where the student needs the most help.

Grading Rubiks helps the student to understand what is expected, and What they will be graded on. Makes it grading the same for every student and protects the instructors from being accused of showing favoritism. It also can help the instructor will help to lay out their instructions and how and what they teach.

Jean,