Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Section 508

As an online instructor, how would you work with the Office of Disability Services?

As an online instructor, I would reach out to the Office of Disability Services at the beginning of each term and ask them if any students on my roster had requested special accomodations recently or in the past. The Office of Disability Services should proactively reach out first, but in the online learning environment it is important to double-check so that nothing falls through the cracks.

Parrish,
It is also good to talk with the Office throughout the term because students with disabilities may come to the forefront any time during the term not just at the beginning.

Renee Shaffer

You would work with the office of disability services by asking them if there are any special accommodations needed for any of the students in your current classes. Thank you. M. Crowley

Michael,

It is also important to note that you might need to check with the office several times during the term because there may be some late "stragglers" getting their documentation in, etc. when seeking accomodation. It may come at midterm.

Renee Shaffer

I would work with them by making sure I know about all of my students that have disabilities. I want to make sure that everything is accessible to them and that I understand what needs to be done in the course.

Kara,
Remember to that sometimes students are in the middle of the class before they sign up with the disability services office so try to be proactive when developing your course materials.

Renee Shaffer