Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Effective Time Management

How do you tell your students to manage their time for their courses? Is it effective? What success rates have you found?

Letrice,

I create calendars that can be used in any phone or calendaring system to get them used to using that type of system. I have tutorials on how to create their own project calendars and talk to them about time management. If I can get it in their phone it works better.

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

I am a tutor, not an instructor, so I tend to meet with students who are struggling and frequently already behind in their work. What seems to work initially is meeting on a weekly basis and going through every assignment for every class and having the student WRITE a realistic schedule, taking into account other commitments, sleeping schedule, realistic time requirements for each assignment, etc. If assignments are already overdue, we prioritize in order to avoid perpetuating the problem. After doing this for a mod or two, students usually come to understand the effectiveness of physically writing a schedule and are better able to manage their own time.

Victoria,

Thank you for your comments! We have started making all of our freshmen take a workshop on how to use the Outlook Calendar and how to plan an assignment and to put it into a calendar. This has really helped in planning for assignments. What you do is so important about a realistic schedule. Most students underestimate the time it takes to complete an assignment well.

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson

During our first Live Chat I ask students what are their best practices for successful online learning? In that way it gives them a chance to collaborate together instead of me just setting standards or practice.

What I have found is that students that complete tasks ahead of schedule find success in the classroom easier.