Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Using Technology as an Excuse

I am going to be teaching an online course for the first time beginning at the end of this month. I have five years of in-classroom experience, and have heard many excuses as to why assignments are not ready on time, and I'm sure not all of them were completely truthful.

It's because of our technology that we are able to offer online courses. For those of you that have taught online in the past, how do you handle technology related excuses for late assignments?

In other words, do you often run into student issues such as "my internet connection went down", "my computer kept rebooting and I couldn't email my work on time", etc?

The only times I have had students use the excuse of technology issues is when our software system went down--and I received notification from the school that the system had gone down so I knew it wasn't an excuse. My school also makes sure, before a student signs up for an online class or program that they have the appropriate equipment to be successful.

However, if this did come up, I would give the student the benefit of the doubt the first time, and then begin counting the last assignments as late and deducting points as needed.

You are asking great questions Rick. You have been a teacher for five years--you will find you will be able to transfer that experience to the online environment relatively easily. Good luck Rick!

It is difficult for students who are balancing competing priorities to respond to computer difficulties. I believe it is important to clearly communicate consequences for delayed assignments. It is also important to work with students and be flexible in developing a successful experience. My experience is that students do have periodic challenges with technology - truthful challenges.