Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Premature exit of an e-learning program

For the student who prematurely exits an e-learning progra, what would be a method of "tactfully bringing them into the participation mainstream"?

Melanie:
The degree to which an Instructor can use tact depends on the reason for the student's premature exit. If I were the Instructor, I would find out the reason for the discontinuation and work within the confines of the policies and procedure of the instituion to see what can be done to bring thestudent back into the class. For example, if the reason is that a student has experienced a personal crisis, I would abide with the recommendations the institution has made to accommodate such situations.
Satrohan

Students leaving my not be within their control. It could be technical such as computer problems or Internet issues. As an instructor I would find out what the issues are first, and provide suggestions to the student on what they may do to resolve the issues.

Rhonda:
Moving into inquiry mode, finding out the reason for premature exit, and doing what is in your control to resolve the problems are the best actions to take. I fully support your approach.
Satrohan

The best way to "re-engage" a student is to send reminder notices regarding missed assignments. In addition, I would send an email to their personal and school address and try to "rekindle" their initial enthusiasm. If done early enough and if the issues are not perceived as overwhelming ... well, the student may become involved again!

I agree, Rosie. If the issues are not ovrwhelming and beyond the student's control, identifying this problem early and taking appropriate measures to re-engage the students could prevent dropping out.
Satrohan