Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

CHATS

I have found that the best way to create a presence in a virtual classroom is the Live Chat. In my first online experience I had office hours, however, the interaction was one email at a time. In a recent experience, I had specific times and a room and the results were fantastic. We spoke about assignments, the syllabus, and other issues... weekly. I believed it helped retention and completing timely assignments, so I recommend this practice!

Rosie,

Weekly chat sessions are great! It not only helps the students but gives the instructor another way to evaluate student behavior.

Rosie:
Great strategy to promote retention. I believe the weekly contact and the focused topics resulted in meaningful Chat sessions.
Satrohan

I also believe chats are the way to go to help with retention and creating a presence. I have been a student in both situations and I really enjoyed the chat format and learned better in that type of environment.

Cynthia:
I assume that by retention you mean student retention and not knowledge retention. I fully agree with you that Chats cna be an effective means to continue to maintain your presence in the learning environment, and participation in the learning experience.
Satrohan

Rosie-
Chats are a great way to "meet" your students. I hold seminars where students are given a specific topic that will be discussed. In this environment I prepare lecture material to be discussed.

For chats, I am there to answer questions only. Kathryn

I've found that chats are also a good way to create a bit of an informal environment as well. As an online student in grad school, I had an instructor who would set aside two chats - one for business, the other for just shooting the breeze and getting to know each other. I learned a great deal from both experiences.

Kimberely:
Using Chat sessions as a "socializing" tool brings its benefits.
Satrohan