Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

The advantages of e-learning and group assignments

As a recent online graduate, I found working with groups and corresponding electronically had many advantages. Because many of us were in different time zones, we found it helpful to post the times we would be online. This allowed for those who could "chime in" to do so. Another advantage was we worked together to divide up sub assignments for group assignments and assigned a specific time in which we were to have our individual contributions in. This constant logging in allowed our instructor to see who was really participating and who was not. Third, I learned how to work cooperatively with people I have never seen before. If you can do well in this type of arena, imagine what you can do face-to-face.

LaTunya,

I agree with you 100%. Having been an online instructor I too believe that all of the benefits you mentioned are key to a successful online learning environment. For example, our conversation now! I believe that live time is a constraint and virtual time allows for much more free communication.

P.S. Congrats on your graduation!

Teya

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us LaTunya. Please share your thoughts with us on the foundation of this Discussion Forum:

Question
Would you lose the ability to really get to know your students in an e-learning environment? Provide a rationale for your answer.
Satrohan

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us LaTunya. Please share your thoughts with us on the foundation of this Discussion Forum:

Question
Would you lose the ability to really get to know your students in an e-learning environment? Provide a rationale for your answer.
Satrohan

Teya:
Thank you for sharing your viewpoints on communicating in a virtual learning environment. Please reflect on the question below and share your thoughts on it with us.

Are there some courses that cannot be effectively taught online?