Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I will be teaching my first online class, and have thought about the possibility of students cheating. You brought up a great suggestion...and one that as a teacher we should be doing anyway! Thanks Shenetha!

Best of luck with your first online class Kathryn! I hope this class has provided you with some helpful information.

I think as an online instructor it is our responsibility to do our best to prevent cheating among students, however, this can be easier said than done.
One website I like to use to guard against plagiarism is www.plagiarismdetect.com. I have found this website extremely useful.

Thanks for sharing the website Adam. I appreciate the tip!

I have been teaching online for 5 years and have experimented with a few methods to discourage and/or identify students cheating...however there is still no foolproof method for a 100% online course.

First, for an online course with essays my school utilizes Turnitin.com. Since we began using this service 4 years ago we have witnessed a dramatic decline in plagiarism. Of course we still conduct seminars to educate students about plagiarism, recycle papers, recycling resources, etc.

Second, and this is not always possible, an on-campus testing center that can verify ID's of students for online assessments is effective, although this is problematic for students traveling abroad or distance learners.

Third, with new emerging technologies we will see/are seeing biometric devices that can verify student ID's and minimize cheating [fingerprint scanners, etc, that are standard on many laptops or via USB for desktops]. This is probably the most viable option moving forward – although as my father often said, "When the good guys build a 10' wall the bad guys build a 12' ladder."