Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Online vs in classroom

As a new online instructor, I feel that it very important that one is comfortable with the applicaitons that available for the student as well as the instructor.

Kelly:
Agreed. Instructors must have the required level of expertise in the features of the Course Delivery Platform they, as well as the students will be using to complete the online course.
Satrohan

Comfort is nice, but not always possible. Once I had a student who was legally blind for a computer class. She was excellent at using the magnifier to find things on the screen. Now when I have a class, some of whom are not familiar with navigating a particular interface, I use vocal cues for them to find things. For example, "At the top of your screen, in your menu, click File and then Page Setup," instead of telling them simply File/Setup.
It's easier online as you can use graphics or a short movie to show where things are.

Ann:
The more detailed the instructions; the better. This applies to both oral and written instructions. You certaily are going to the right level of detail to guide them to the desired destination.
Satrohan

I think it is essential to understand that the online experience is different than the in class experience. What I wrestle with often is the challenge of translating the in class learning experience to online...in particular in many of my classes the in class experience is more of a work session rather than a lecture...in the lecture format it is fairly easy to translate to online, however a working session is harder. one thing we do is have live on line chat sessions where the students can log in to a work session. mastering the technology in the delivery of course material is a great challenge.