Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I learned about the different forms of distance education. 

The methods for synchronous and asynchronous learning are not new to me.  I have used the methods before when treating patients and in my own online pursuit of education and now I will apply these methods to teaching as an instructor myself. I am excited and ready to start finding hospital educators to come into my classes as guest speakers to present their expertise and insight into the subject matter we are covering in class. 

The use of guest speakers to engage students and give them an outside real- world perspective is an area I would like to look consider for distant learners.  Discussion are a great way to get students thinking about topics and start to use critical thinking. Encouraging students to engage in discussions is a good way to help students. reflect and opens up opportunities for expanded learning.  

Synchronous and Asynchronous discussions enhance the learning outcomes of students and engagement with the course. Online learning can provide similar or better experiences for students in guest lecturers, discussions and interactions than face-to-face learning.

Great Introduction. 

great intro 

I think one of the most interesting part of this module was thinking about the use of guest speakers in on line courses to do it more interesting for participants.

Allowing students to progress at their own rate is a valuable part of asynchronous learning. 

I was given a good reminder of how valuable guest lecturers can be -- even in the online environment -- and way to organize those efforts.

One thing that has stood out and is gaining traction with me is the decision to have asynchronous/synchronous chats. I feel these are great tools for learners but they must have the ability to "hit home" for the learner so that they feel engaged with the course. 

Good to be reminded of the differences between sychronous and asychronous learning.