Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Agreed. Without an accessible online "look and feel" the course will be viewed as not accessible for varied learning styles.

All boils down to first impressions.

and if we do not like them how can we expect our students to like them!

Yes, first impressions can make a critical difference with almost any human transaction, but particularly so, it seems to me, with exclusively online interactions. The use of select multi-media, group interaction, guest lecturers online and a student-centered approach to learning makes a lot of sense in any classroom, but online those options for learning seem even even more accessible.

As an online student myself, I am drawn to assignments that are visually stimulating and challenging yet still accessible and well-organized. Also, if the facilitator is responsive, caring and knowledgable, this can be successfully reflected through their choice of assignments and how they are presented, focused on, and even assessed online, which helps, since I would be expected to give as good as I get!

I'm wondering, does the idea of first impressions have an impact in other areas of online learning?

I agree. Once students feel comfortable with how to access the required information, then everyone can focus on the actual learning experience.

exactly!

First impressions are very important!

This is very important but the look and feel should be tested with focus groups and instructors before the course is offered.

I agree. I think that an online course has to be user-friendly, and part of that means having a welcoming environment for the students to "click" into. One of the things I have learned as a Quality Matters reviewer is the importance of having a Welcome message that gives students an idea of where to go. Some learning platforms are easier to navigate than others, so this is especially important for new online students.