Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Brittany,
Teamwork scenarios will help to develop those skills that students need to be successful in the workforce.
Philip Campbell

I lead my class by example. As an instructor I am also a facilitator and in that I encourage each student to develop the soft skills needed to be a team player, not only in class, but their future career endeavors.

I see these students come in straight off the street with very few people skills and when they rgaduate the change in workplace behaviors, people skills, and hard skills is truly amazing.

We need to be careful that they are also learning and not just observing some one else learn.

ray,
Good point, we all need a balance when dealing with students.
Philip Campbell

i often divide the students into groups,with one team leader amoung the group this team leader will give instructions to the group and gather respondes to be able to formulate an outline of the task at hand

nydia,
This does help students to develop communication skills for the workplace.
Philip Campbell

I use group work a lot in my classroom. I teach in the medical field so a sense of teamwork needs to be learned if it is not already inherent in my students. My group work tends to be problem solving and asking students what course of action they would take with the patient's best interest in mind. Thye very quickly learn that the best choice migh not always be the most popular one, but if they are coming to that conclusion as a group they are forming a bond over that patient as well.

Michelle,
Keep using the groups. There is a lot they can learn from each other.
Philip Campbell

I agree with teamwork, I am an instructor for allied health. The didactic portion of the course is only part of their grade. The lab component is a team effort to get the job done. We have the students in groups of three role playing, and works out very well.

Donna ,