Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I feel that working together to solve a problem teaches good team work and allows the instructor to see use of soft skills as they go about trying to resolve the problem.

Brandon,
Teamwork is important and a skill that some people are lacking.
Philip Campbell

I like the group setting also. The first few days of class I look to see which students take breaks together or sit in class together. Then I place them into new group settings. At first they complain but then they settle in and start to blend

As a culinary instructor I find it very difficult to teach teamwork. My students each produce his/her own dishes every day and are very 'greedy' about grabbing ingredients. (I have worked to solve this through portioning most ingredients.
In an effort to promote teamwork I have made groups for the cleaning duties and have swithched the groups around during the course. But, I admit, even though I teach that being in a professional kitchen requires teamwork, the classroom enviornment does not its development.

Laura,
Good strategy. keep finding interesting ways to promote teamwork.
Philip Campbell

At the beginning of each course, I ask students to write and share their autobiographies. Students recognize life experiences they have in common as well as identify life experiences that are different from their own. There is value in each as one objective is to celebrate similarities and differences of one another. Through out the course, we are reminded of these values.

Sometimes is really hard to integrate the student, because they create small groups in relation with their affinities.I always treat to break those groups during the practices and show the students the importance to be able to work with different kind of peoples.