Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

In terms of age, I've found that emotional maturity (or lack thereof) can be a major stumbling block to academic success.

I'm an instructor in a vocational nursing program, and many of the younger students are lacking this basic level of maturity. Based on their age, this is to be expected. However, when these same students expect to become nurses who are responsible for the safety and lives of their patients, well, that's a whole other story.

Lastly, a lack of emotional maturity makes it difficult for these students to provide appropriate therapeutic communication to their patients.

Hudson

I agree with you Chris, many students feel discouraged after a bad test or assignment. Once the test or assignment is complete, I always go over it. The students and I discuss the questions and I guide them to the right answer and explain why their answer was incorrect. I always reassure the student there is always “a next time” to earn a better grade or to learn from their mistake.

yes i agree, age is a big factor. plus, family sizes are also effecting the learning ability of students. plus, language can also be a barrier as well.

Carol,

I like how your phrased that, "where we came from and where we are going and how we can all be a part of the future of our career." I feel that is especially important these days when there are four generations in the workplace, and in the classroom too. I wrote a paper about it for my masters. Each generation has its own ideas about success, rewards, scheduling, technology, etc. To be a successful multi-generational teacher, I believe we have to know about each one.

Pete