Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Personal problems in the classroom.

I think it is a big mistake to talk about personal problems with the class, it is just not appropriate or professional.

I think in doing this we create a somewhat stressful situation. I also think we need to show our students that we are there for them and in talking about our personal problems may delute that idea.

Hello Nathan,
I have been teaching for over 20 years, and I never bring up personal information in class, you simply don't need to do that. While in class is a professional affair not a personal affair.
Patricia

Hi Rick,
The classroom is no place for personal problems. We all have personal problems, but it is a time and place for everything.
Patricia

I think your are complitly right about that many intructor make that mistake confusing shering there experince with shering there personal live.

Hi Michell,
Personal should be kept out of the classroom. The classroom should strictly be about professional. Some instructors get too caught up in personal affairs in the classroom, and they leave little time for instructing.
Patricia

there is not pofessional to talk about personal problems in the classroom.

Hi Patricia, I think you are correct as teachers we need to establish a professional setting in the classroom and talking about personal problems
completely changes the dynamics of the teaching setting

Hi Michele,
Absolutely, the classroom is no place to talk about personal issues. The classroom is used to instruct, and the classroom should have a professional atmosphere at all times.
Patricia

Hello Ricardo,
We must be regarded as professionals at all times. Our students watch our every move.
Patricia