Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

New instructor with difficult students

Will students test a new instructor more than a veteran instructor?

I don't know that they INTENTIONALLY test a new instructor more, but they can usually "tell" who is a veteran instructor. With experience comes confidence, and with confidence comes a relaxed, but controlled, manner of instruction and interaction with the students. Then they realize that the teacher is seasoned and we be in-tune with what's going on in class.

Best advice I received: never show fear. So when I started teaching, I immediately acted like I'd been doing it for a while. In truth: I was shaking. But they didn't know it.

I've had students ask me how long I've been teaching overall, that class, that book, etc. Even if I am new to the course, I usually tell them I'e taught it before, but the text is new to me, so there may be some rough spots. That seems to satisfy most of them.

Hi Vaughan,
Absolutely, and they will test a veteran instructor too, especially if that instructor has a reputation of being able to get over on.

Patricia Scales

I came on board under unusual circumstances as a replacement for a much-loved intructor. Although I had over 5 years of teaching experience before this gig, the students only knew me as "the replacement". They tested me, alright, continually referring to what the other instructor did and what they were allowed to do. I stuck to my guns, firm but caring, explaining my experience and how everybody teaches differently even with similar material, and to embrace people's differences. I asked them to let me know what worked for them and what didn't. We all had adjustments to make. Now, the same students don't compare me to the old instructor anymore, and have really picked up their academic efforts (I'm a little more demanding...lol)! They have turned out to be quite the interesting class.