Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Adjusting your attitude to deal with stress

While many of the other methods of dealing with stress, or better yet, eliminating stressors, are great ideas, I have found that I was crreating some of those stressors myself because of the way I percieved events at work, not the events themselves.

For instance, when I first started as an instructor I would take it very personally when a student performed poorly in my class, to the point where it caused a lot of stress and I know I laid awake nights thinking of it. I was creating stress in my life about things that are not within my control. I now ask myself, did I offer all the help I could? Did I do everything I could to ensure the student's success? If I can answer myself honestly, with a yes, and the students failed to take advantage of what was offered to him because of a lack of motivation on his part, or if failed to grasp a concept after explaining or demostraating the concept using every learning style method I could come up with, then I am not at fault, and should not personally suffer stress because of something I am not in control of.

Other things I can control, I manage, things I can not control, I simply dismiss. I will not allow myself to loose sleep or become ill because of things that are not within my control.

Great points Todd. It is important to identify what is in our control and do something about it, and accept what is not in our control and move on. This can be a hard task when it comes to students who sacrifice bright futures. But if you’ve done everything you can, then you should feel good about your efforts.

I believe it is hard to prioritize the daily lessons and getting students to follow those lesson plans