Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

The things we can't control

I found this to be so true. The things that I cannot control are the things that give me the most stress. For instance, if you've ever had a student bully you, but the school won't let you tell him or her to stop, it can really put a strain on your well-being. If it weren't for situations like that, I think I would be relatively stree-free. I just wish there was something that could be done.

Julie,

Being a new instructor I have not had the problem of a student bully me, other instructors at our school have had the problem and they came to us, myself and other instructors in the teacher's office area, for a possible solution to the problem. They presented the problem to the dean of the school and the dean of education and one other person in charge of the school and expected help in some way. Students in both of the instructors' classes were asked to leave the class and not return, but were reinstated by the deans. These students are grown adults, not teenagers in high school.

We that were in the office area at that time did not agree with what happened, but were powerless to do anything about it. Both instructors were very stressed out as I myself would have been had it happened to me. I probably would have a very hard time returning to teach the next quarter if ever again.

One solution that came up was to have a meeting with the dean of the school, the dean of education and the other person in charge as a whole group and present our case to them and see if something couldn't be done about it-like having the difficult student at this meeting and questioning the person as to why he/she felt it was necessary to bully the instructor. Maybe this student doesn't realize he/she was intimidating the instructor(although they usually know what they are doing), but should realize that the instructors are going stand as a whole and not tolerate this type of behaviour. It might work.