Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

the fine line between helping and "coddling"

Where's the line between the two. Is letting a student take a quiz several times until he/she passes help the student to learn or is that "coddling".

Hi Mike ... I share your concern about the fine line between helping and coddling students. I don't see retaking quizzes as being a bad thing, because as you point out, there is a varies and diverse learning curve involved with our students and re-taking a quiz is definitely uselful for some students. Personally, I draw the line at retakes on quizzes ... not allowed for major exams. I also have a fairly liberal homework policy, allowing my students a generous grace period in which to turn in their assignments, pegging homework to a substantial portion of their overall grade. I find this encourages them to do the work, even if it is only eventually! I am relatively new to this teaching gig, but I am getting pretty good results so far. Bottom line, I guess, is doing what is necessary to make the student successful in school, and along the way, hopefully we can ween them off the support system we build for them in class. Hope my thoughts are helpful to you.
Regards,
John

Hi Mike,
The answer to this question depends upon the reason for having the student take the test over and over. In the process is learning occurring? Is progress being made or is the student taking the same test over and over and getting better scores through memory of the items. If that is the answer then it is not fair to the student nor the career area. Meaning the student has to know the content and have the skills or they will not be successful in the future. If they have problems with time and focus due to pressure or cognitive processin issues then that is different. Also, different versions of the test can be given to make sure content is being tested.