Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Hi Susie,
Good comments about how to get students to retain information. The color coding of critical content really helps with retention. Anything you can do like share a story related to the new content will help with memory storage for students.
Gary

Being a Special Education Teacher, I have had the benefit of learning techniques related to teaching learners with a variety of abilities. I believe one of the most useful tools is to use multi modal approaches to instruction. I try to incorporate as many delivery methods for the same topic as possible and also use personal experiences where available to make the information more personal.

Hi Melissa,
Good to learn of your background as a special education teacher. I currently train students to become special education teachers and I agree with your statement about how effective special education instructors are. Special education is student focused and as a result these instructors are willing to try anything to get the students engaged and making learning progress. This same model works with all teaching. To me good teaching is good teaching no matter who the students are nor what the subject is.
Gary

I BELIEVE I WILL IMPLEMENT AN ADDITIONAL COURSE REVIEW TO ASSIST THE STUDENTS WITH PREPARING FOR CERTIFICATION TESTING. ALTHOUGH MY STUDENTS HAVE ALL PASSED THESE TESTS IN THE PAST I BELIEVE BY ADDING ASDDITIONAL REVIEW I WILL BE ABLE TO RAISE THEIR SCORES.

Hi Bruce,
Good strategy. This is a value added opportunity you are going to offer your students and I know they will appreciate your efforts.
Gary

As a Cultural Diversity instructor, it's crucial for me to be aware of diverse learning styles and how people process information. In fact, several of my lessons are designed to make my knowledge explicit to my students.