Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Favorite ways to keep class moving

Hello! I am brand new, and will be teaching my first solo class starting with Term 1 (next week). I have some ideas of how to keep the class moving, but from those of you who are more seasoned, what are some of your favorite things to do? Videos? Question and Answer Sessions? Games? Just curious and would love some additional ideas! Thanks!

Hello Marie

I have been instructing for 15 years and my one suggestion is to have the classroom prepared before class, then be at the classroom door 15 to 20 minutes ahead of the bell to start the class.  Meet and greet the students on the way into class everyday! When the bell rings if you see them running for the door hold the door for them. I know that our school managers ask that the students be seated before the bell but this gives them the benefit of doubt the first time. The second time is a reminder to that person that you aren't the doorman and if this was a commuter train or bus they would have missed it.  Third time I am docking them for being late even if they are running.

The next thing that I have always done due to my mentor is when I close the door I give the class a great big GOOD MORNING or AFTERNOON and ask them to repeat back. They have never quite understood my enthusiasm or high energy level but I keep it going all class long.

The other is follow-up, at the end of the course thank them for their contribution to the class. This goes on even after they have left my course, while they are at the school and some times graduated, (FaceBook) let them know that you're available for support, even though you only spent three weeks with them.       

Have a smile on your face.  Take a little time for introduction, overview of the course and encourage students to encourage each other through study groups and explortion of additional resources. Provide a "fun activity or challenge" when possible.

Thanks for the tip.