Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Students on a First name basis

Do your students feel more empored when you call them by your fist name???

Not so much empowered, but acknowledged to their existence, and sets them at ease.

As an instructor, I believe that I have a responsiblity to the students to know each one of them individually. I work hard to memorize thier names the first class meeting. I believe that this helps the students know that I care and that I listen. Two characteristics that I expect students to have in order to learn.

Hi,
I actually thought this was a query about learners calling the instructor by a first name. For that issue, I have a general rule of thumb. Generally, for undergrads, I do introduce myself as Dr Anderson and expect to be called Dr Anderson. However, for graduate learners I introduce myself as Cheryl Anderson and allow learners to address me as "Cheryl."

Cheryl Anderson

Yes, definitely. They feel important.

Hi Nagib,
It all depends on the type of class and the formal nature of how you conduct your class. In my classes I call my students by their first names because it is a little more informal and they like the setting and use of first names.
Gary

Hi Andy,
You dedication to know students' names quickly is a sign of your caring about their success. By them knowing you care about their success then they will return your caring by focusing on the content and skills of the course.
Gary

Hello Cheryl,
Would you care to explain the reasoning behind your differentiation process? It seems as if you consider undergrads less mature students.

I always address my students by their first name; it makes them feel at ease and creates a bond of trust between myself and the students. I teach culinary arts (Le Cordon Bleu)our curriculum is extremely rigorous so I need all the leverage I can get in order to teach on a one - on -one basics when needed.