Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Comparing Instructor to Instructor

Students often compare myself to other instructors. I am a different sort of instructor who likes to challenge students with scavenger hunts, memory games, and various activities to keep it interesting. The majority like the variety and they are learning as we review. But they compare me with other Instructors who are not as different. Am I too different?

Lori

I don't think you are too different - sounds like you are right on track.

Best wishes,
Schawn Pedersen

Hi Lori,
Great question. The answer is you are only too different if you are not getting results with your students. Meaning, how are your students evaluations? How does the administration perceive your teaching? Are your students leaving your class with the knowledge and competencies that they need? If so then you are doing a good job of teaching. Don't let the students or other faculty take you out of your "game" if you are getting results. Keep up the good work.
Gary

If no one is complaining, and they are learning, you are doing great!!!!!

I believe that we are all different and each one of us are individuals. We as instructors bring with us into the classroom who we are as a professional in the field we are teaching. As instructors we can learn from each other and support each other. I think being different is great as long as the students are getting the core information they need to suceed in the field they are pursueing. ^-)

Hi Denise,
Well said. We are all unique and bring our particular personality and style to the classroom. That is fine as long as we fulfill our professional obligation of teaching our students to the best of our abilities. Variety among teachers provided students with different approaches to the different subjects.
Gary