Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Responsibility

I think the responsibility for student retention falls on all administration of a school. Students should be screen before placement, all pre-requisits should be met and student concerns about time and projects need to be addressed. As a college student I can remember feeling very overwhelmed by the sheer mass of reading material and projects due on the same day. There were many nights that I went without sleep, not due to poor planning, but due to simply not enough hours in the day. I listen to my students when they express concerns about projects or material and if the concern is valid, I will adjust the timeline for the course to reflect their concerns. We might spend less time on a topic and more time on another, but we should be teaching what they don't know instead of covering the material they do know in order to be successful.

Melissa, there seem to be several different thoughts in your comment. How are you going to turn them into an action plan for the next 30 days?

I've already been involved in a discussion with the administration and adjunct faculty regarding an entrance exam. The administration is working on developing a test so that students are up to speed and have the skill sets necessary to succeed in their classes.

Over the next 30 days, I plan on adjusting our test and project timelines for all my classes. I am trying to find a happy medium so that I am not moving too fast for some or too slow for others. Some students are behind and have expressed their frustration. To remedy that, I have made myself more accessible outside of class to tutor, answer questions and work with students on a one-on-one basis as needed.

Thanks, Melissa. You seem to have a sound grasp on what needs to be done and a realistic approach to accomplishing those tasks.