Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Question for Everyone

First, let me preface this question by stating that I work as an academic advisor. Tracking all of the interactions I have with students, I have been disturbed to find that the ones I deal with are primarily either in the academic erosion or stagnation phases.

This concerns me....I think it is so important that we also stay in close contact with the students who don't show up on our radars as being at-risk because this will definitely help to prevent future problems and build relationships with them; however, I find that the majority of my time and energy is spent on the students exhibiting problems.

Does anyone have some ideas for how I can stay in contact with those students who are doing well, too?

Thanks!

Teri

Teri, at my previous school we encouraged all students to use our on-line system, GradMax, to communicate, on a weekly basis, what was going on in their lives – the good as well as the bad. Students would share events like plans to get engaged and travel plans. It provided an opportunity of our coaches to stay connected and share in the excitement.

I would love to hear more about how this works...I guess my concern has to do with how they get input based on their responses.

Thanks!

Teri