Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Help with contacting employers

Like many, I'm new to Job Placement. What is the best way to contact employers, just basic cold calling? What if many are not hiring? Any tips?

Hi Matt, Interesting challenge. Suggest you start with employers who hire your grads. That's a warm call. In fact, you might want to email or write to them to expect your call and give them some topics you'd like to discuss. Then when your comfort level increases, and you know who to speak with at each company, call companies that could hire your grads if they knew you. Just one call and contact at a time and you'll have a huge network. Then be sure to keep in contact with them regularly. Best wishes, Susan

We use multiple strategies to attract the attention of employers. We target employers, sometimes out of a phonebook or a purchased database, in the industries that are most relevant. With cold calling, we frame our conversations as informational about our programs, our college, and how the career services office can help them. We invite them to participate in events, maybe to guest speak in a classroom or host a career workshop. We talk about possible internship/coop opportunities. This way, you usually do find out if they are hiring, but you are also developing a relationship. We want employers to have a connection with our school so that they come to us first every time they have an opening. I hope this helps!

Hi Courtney! Thanks for your excellent comments. These are all effective ways to procure perspective employers and inform them about your school and programs.