Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I'm new at this job--any suggestions?

I have just taken over ast the Career Services Coordinator at a Business School, and I am more than willing to take any advice/suggestions anyone has for me. I have worked with job placement on a much smaller scale in previous positions, but this is brand new.

What helps? What should I avoid? What's the most important thing to remember as I start new?

Hi Deborah
Great questions. There's nothing like the advice of people in the job. You are also enrolled in a course that includes a lot of how to's re career services offerings. So suggest you continue, learn a lot, and keep asking those questions. Also check publishers for all their media on career services. You'll get lots more ideas and resources. The key to success in running any department is read, learn, ask, be creative, persistent, and patient. And of course measure whatever you do to determine results. Good luck, Susan

I am also fairly new to this position, and I'm finding it helpful to network as much as possible. I'm asking what areas are most in need and contacting as many people as possible. I am also tracking graduates that have been placed and they are giving me valuable leads.

HI Ruth
Sounds like you are off to a great start. In addition to what you are doing and learning in this course, suggest you do some surveys and interviews of employers, potential employers, students, grads, not so happy grads. Create a list of questions re what they want in the career center. Then see what can be done and set some priorities in implementation. If you give people what they want and need that should help build a solid department. Good luck, Susan

Hi, When I first got started I was nervous and excited at the same time:
Suggestions:

Developing Job Leads:
Do not get discouraged when making phone calls to employers in your community when they are not interested.