Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Jade,

Yes, the key is that rubrics benefit both students and instructors. Nice job.

Theresa and Christina,

I agree. The rubric roadmap is a true connection between the learning objectives and the students. Thanks.

I think that it is important to use rubrics to have consistency with grading. Rubrics help me to use the criteria to be sure that I am grading students fairly.

As a Criminal Justice instructor, I find it very important to use rubrics. It is essential for the student to understand what they have done correctly within their paper, and any information that may be lacking or needs improvement. I find that I can provide a very detailed analysis of their paper with rubrics. This helps the student understand what they need to do going forward for future papers as well. The student becomes aware of what is expected, and helps them to better judge the quality of their work. It is also a great advantage that it saves time once the rubric has been created for me specifically on evaluating their work.

Janelle,

Don't forget that they help the studnets understand the project/assignment more and should be used to help them understand the expectations/learning outcomes. Thanks!

David,

Glad you are using rubrics effectively. They are so important and help the instructor and students as well. Nice job.

Dr. Kelly Wilkinson,
As an online instructor, it is important to use a rubrics for two reasons: It helps clarify what is expected and decreases the grade disputes. A rubrics is also a tools that protects the instructor from legal actions based upon bias or perceived bias toward a certain student.
Sincerely,
Walter
9-6-12