Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Grammar girl is good! I've never used her for my classes... but, being a former editor, I will stumble approvingly across her blog from time to time.

First, I must disagree with this: “During the online chat, I demonstrate the Spell Check feature available to them in the DB pop-up window, and show how easy it is to find and correct errors.” Without question, Spell Check and it’s cousin Grammar Check are the worst banes to a student learning how to write effectively. As we all know, Spell Check only checks for spelling, no context, so “going to the beach,” “going too the beach,” and “going two the beach” are all correct as far as Spell Check is concerned. And students must also remember it is not Mr. or Ms. Spell Check whose name is on an assignment – it is the students’ names. Yes, use Spell Check as an aid, but nothing more; a student must first rely on his / herself when it comes to spelling.

As for Grammar Check, students’ reactions are pretty much, “The sky is falling! The sky is falling!” when they see that little green squiggly line. But there’s an old computer adage: GIGO, i.e., garbage in, garbage out – and I have nearly 3 dozen examples of where Grammar Check is just flat out wrong., It was input by humans, humans are not perfect, and thus errors are going to occur. As with Spell Check, students should look at Grammar Check as a POSSIBLE aid … but first rely on themselves.