Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Understanding learning styles

I was really interested in this module because It will not only help me with the on-line course but with my classes I teach at the college. Pointers on how to bring in students into the conversation and group participation is a great way of assisting shy student to feel that they are involved and important. Assigning threaded discussions on-line as a grade makes the students get involved even if they want to make a good grade. I feel that I learned a lot of great ways to manage my on-line classes in this course.

Becky, I must agree. While reading about different learning styles, I visualized certain students. Now I know how to engage those students into the learning environment. I have been an online student and in certain classes there were student who dominated the class environment at times.

As I went through the part of the module on learning styles, only Avoidant, Competitive, and Dependent were described. Is there not a description of Collaborative, Participant, and Independent?

Bonnie:
I will review the lietrature again on Learning Styles and see if new categories have been added. My inclination would be that the group of traits will be the opposite, as the categories you have mentioned are the opposites to the ones covered in the module.
Satrohan

All six are in the same list in the module, but only the first 3 have a definition.

There is a great deal of literature out there on different learning styles based on research done by different individuals. I always find that seeing new information in this area a benefit to my teaching toolbox. I am sure we can all relate to each type of behavior listed.

I would suggest that because it was mentioned and piqued our curiosity that the bottom 3 listed also be define, in brief form. This will allow us to learn more from this online course.

Toni:
I will consider your recommendation. Thank you for your suggestion.
Satrohan