Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Online Instructor

As an online instructor I make it my duty to contact each student before the class starts in order to introduce myself and to see if they have any questions, concerns or issues. I also watch participation and scores and if I see someone is lost or lack of attendance/participation. I then decide to contact them for one on one counseling. It is easy to lose a student due to being online so you have to take that extra steps to pull them back and get the actively engaging.

Terri,

These are great ways for you as the instructor to stay connected with your students and try to head off "losing" a student during the semester. Do you also allow the students to introduce themselves to one another in an introduction forum or similar way to build a sense of community among your students?

Herbert Brown III

I set up a an additional thread "coffee shop introduction" which gives the student the opportunity to introduce themselves to their classmate and discuss their educational goals.

It is very important to closely monitor each student's progress in an online course. However, before the course gets started, it is essential to welcome students with a welcome statement and for a faculty member to give his or her biography so that students begin to connect with a faculty member as more than being a vague entity, but a real person who has an interest in teaching.

Something that I say in my introduction to students is that it is a privilege to be their teacher and that I am available to help them each step of the way through the learning process. I also clarify policies about being sick, absent and late submissions of assignments.