Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Assisting online students

I have a passion for and love teaching online courses. I know that the online environment can be daunting for some students and like to make the CMS as easy as possible to navigate.

I like the fact that our institution uses the same design for all of the courses that are offered to our students. The content is obviously different but the navigation of each course is similar.

I have found that once a student is familiar with the CMS and has a professional relationship with the instructor that they (the students) gain the confidence to be successful in all courses.

Well said Kim!

Kim,

Being available for online students really helps the student feel connected. I was an online student myself and I always thought it was funny that I had such opinions about teachers even though I had never met them in person. Even through a computer, you can tell who cares and who doesn't.
Trisha

Great point Trisha. Even though we are reaching out via technology, it can still have a positive and lasting impression on our students.

I've got to agree with you wholeheartedly, Kim. As an online student myself for many years, I found that to be true. It's the reason why I not only finished with the school I started and became comfortable with, but returned to them for my graduate programs.

D.B.

Trisha

This is only my second term to teach an online class, and I have been suprised that I know my students much better than I thought I would. After teacher for over seventeen years in a traditional environment, I did not know what to expect from an online class. I find that it is quite different, but quite rewarding and more personal than I thought it would be.

Rebecca

Do you have some specific examples of how you reach out to your students to get to know them Rebecca?