Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Teaching a Hybrid Course

Hi, I am a new online instructor. I will be teaching a Hybrid Course (partial traditional classroom/partial online). Has anyone taught a course of this nature? What are some of the instructor pitfalls to be aware of with this type of a course?

Ravie:
I defer your inquiry to other students in the course. I have never taught a hybrid course; however, my feeling is that it will be easier to manage that a total online class.

Ravie, in regards to pitfalls, I really do not see anything new to be aware of beyond what we have covered in this course. Whatever we covered in this course applies to the online portion of your hybrid course; your teacher-training should prepare you well to manage the on-the-ground portion of the course.

My advice to you is to follow the recommendations we have provided and prepare yourself well for the onlinbe portion of the course, especially if you did not write the course. Managing the online portion is likely to be your greater challenge as this is your first time teaching in an online environment.
Satrohan

Thank you Satrohan. I will def. apply what I am learning in this course to my hybrid class. Great information!

I am also a new online instructor teaching anatomy and physiology (60% online and 40% classroom). How do you suggest I split the course up? In your opinion, would it be best to cover the material online and use the classroom session as a review or cover new material in both settings?

Mark: