Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Dee:
Great suggestions. And there are other topics that can be added to your list; for example, conducting effective searches on the internet. We must also remember that the ability to use the features and functionality of the Course Delivery Platform as they pertain to completing the learning activities should be mandatory.
Satrohan

Since most students don't have access to academic search databases from their homes, they tend to have difficulty in identifying credible sources on the internet. I usually tell them that .org, .edu, or .gov are fairly reliable sources for obtaining valid information (although these are occasionally outdated or inaccurate.)
What recommendations do you have to help students obtain valid/reliable information from their homes?

Dee:
I solicit input from other students in this course on this Subject.

I am not an expert on conducting research on the Internet; however, I know for a fact that this subject has been covered in some text books. And there may even be valid materials on the internet on this subject

As an Instructor, if I am sending students to Web sites to study content, I am responsible for verifying the recency and accuracy of the content.
Satrohan

Dee:

An effective and easy way to evaluate Internet sources was developed by a teacher and writer named Robert Harris. His CARS method instructs students to look at four areas of concentration when evaluating websites: Credibility, Accuracy, Reasonableness, and Support. Below is a summary for the CARS checklist. For a more detailed explanation of the CARS Checklist, access the link: http://www.virtualsalt.com/evalu8it.htm

Summary of The CARS Checklist for Research Source Evaluation
Credibility:trustworthy source, author's credentials, evidence of quality control, known or respected authority, organizational support. Goal: an authoritative source, a source that supplies some good evidence that allows you to trust it.