Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Wikis are pretty rare, but I did one once as a student in a PhD course and I thought it was fairly interesting. The instructor had it set up as an ongoing endeavor, and each time she held a class on a related subject the students would be given the opportunity to add to the Wiki for alternative points in various assignments.

The Wiki would notify the instructor of any changes, so she could then look at the changes and approve or correct them. Students could also comment on each other's content.

One potential down side was that it was difficult to specify and quantify what constitutes "quality" input. Having a rubric for an assignment like this is tricky -- it would almost certainly not have a length requirement, for example, because some Wiki entries are short (but still important).

I think the book is still out on the use of Wikis as a teaching tool.

I am fairly new to wikis and blogs but I think that they definitely fit well with teaching today’s technologically savvy students. I had the opportunity to use both of these in an online class that I took. I will say that I had a small learning curve with the programs. However, I do feel that this type of approach will definitely appeal to those kinesthetic students who learn best by doing. These tools allow students to explore their creativity and expand the mechanisms of teaching with and to their fellow classmates. Depending on the student, online teachers may have to be a little patient with them as they are learning how to use the tools but I do feel that once the techniques are mastered, it will prove to greatly enhance the learning.

Beverly,