Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I disagree I believe the time invested to develop an online course will take more time. having to make sure all learning activities support what you are teaching. assignments, quizes, exams and making sure to try to fit your students needs

I have developed many ground classes and now online classes so I have some experience in this matter.

I would say it is the opposite. The online course takes much more effort. You can add to the ground class any time during your class preparation for the course. When I am preparing for a ground class I generally find videos or news stories that relate to the course content. For an online course this all needs to be completed in the course design of the content. The same applies for any type of discussion questions.

Chatrione,
Good point. There are times when I jot down notes while I am sitting here watching NCIS!!!

Shelly Crider

John,
It is nice to know that you create quality courses. I have seen courses that have obviously not had enough time given to them!

Shelly Crider

Al,
I love to see a class with current events in them whether videos or news links.

Shelly Crider

Shelly:

I consider cheating a form of stealing; stealing is a crime.

Thanks for your reply.

John

Shelly:

The student is a client who deserves the best service. I place my students at a higher level thatnmyself because I am their servant, teacher and guide in the classroom. Colloquially, this philosophy is known as student-orientation.

Thanks for your fine reply.

John

I have found over the years of teaching online that I spend a significantly greater amount of time managing and engaging in my online courses. It is much more labor intensive in discussion management, student question response and preparation for each week. I think that is a function of the asynchronous nature of the learning platform.